In Blog, Inverters, Micro Inverters & Optimisers

The much-anticipated award-winning Fronius Gen 24 has finally hit the Australian Market. The Fronius Gen 24 is simply a new battery-ready inverter or hybrid inverter. Fronius gave me an early model Gen 24, which I’ve been testing for several months. In this post, I’ll first outline the features of the Fronius Gen 24, and how it does what many hybrid inverters can’t do. Next, I’ll reveal what really sets the Fronius Gen 24 apart – the build quality. Read on, or watch my summary in the video below.

What to look for in a Hybrid inverter and Battery

Not all hybrid batteries are created equal. The features that we’ll discuss below are.

  • Batteryless backup – A great feature if you are looking to install solar now and a battery later.
  • Brand reliability and warranty (forget your warranty if the brand isn’t reliable).
  • Brand compatibility.
  • Battery Size. Do you have enough storage to keep you going overnight?
  • Excess solar. No point in having a huge battery if you don’t have enough excess solar to charge it.
  • Changeover time. How long does it take to change from on-grid mode to blackout mode?
  • Blackout mode. What will the inverter and battery actually do in a blackout?
  • AC coupling. Use your old solar system to charge your new battery.

But before we even discuss batteries, let’s talk battery-less.

 

Update 20/04/2022 – New “peak demand” charges / penalties have started to show up on Queensland power bills and they look like they’ll become the new normal. If you’re getting these charges already or just want to be prepared for when they change your plan. Solar Batteries could be a good option. You can check out our BYD battery pricing page here.

Batteryless backup – Gen 24 PV pointGen24 PV Point

With the Fronius Gen 24 you can now have power in a blackout without a battery. Fronius cleverly call the feature “PV Point”  (PV = solar power). I call it Batteryless Backup.

Gen24 Fronius Batteryless Backup

PV point is not a perfect solution. It will only operate when the sun is out, and it won’t back up your whole house. Instead, we install one dedicated power point next to the inverter or in your house. That dedicated power point will only turn on in a blackout. In the event of a blackout, you’ll need to run an extension lead to your fridge.

The PV point will output a maximum of 3000w, so as long as your solar is producing at least 3000W you could easily run a fridge, a deep freezer, charge your phone, run a computer and have some left over. It could run an electric frypan, a toaster and a kettle. Just not all at the same time.

Some think PV point is a gimmick. I think it’s pretty cool. You can get halfway to being blackout-proof without forking out big bucks for a battery. And to be honest, that’s why I’m most excited about the new Fronius Gen 24. It’s an affordable closet-prepper backup solution now, and it’s a true “battery-ready” inverter.

 

What does battery ready mean?

Battery-ready is a misused term. You can plug a Tesla Powerwall into any inverter, but that doesn’t make the inverter that you plug it into a “battery-ready inverter”. Battery-ready is a term that should be used for DC-coupled battery inverters. What’s the difference? Read my post on the difference between AC and DC-coupled solar batteries. The Fronius Gen 24 is a true battery-ready inverter. Ready and waiting for a BYD battery.

 

Who is BYD?

Build Your Dreams. I’m not even joking. That’s what BYD stands for.

byd-fronius-gen24-brisbane In 2019 I was over in BYD’s hometown of Shenzhen, which happens to be one of the world’s fastest-growing cities. Shenzhen is a city where many dreams have been built. You’d be forgiven for thinking BYD owns the bustling city of Shenzhen. The electric buses and taxies that rule the roads are all BYD vehicles. Billboards and buildings advertise the hope-filled acronym. Then there’s Mr Warren Buffet, the most successful investor of the 20th century. In 2008, Buffett made a big bet on BYD by taking a 24.6% stake in the battery and electric vehicle company. BYD is now the world’s largest manufacturer of electric vehicles.

BYD is an enormous company, has impressive experience with batteries, and has solid backing in Mr Buffet. Anecdotally they have been proactive with early Solar Battery warranty problems in Australia. But what about the BYD & Fronius combination?

 

Fronius and the BYD Solar Battery

In the ideal world, I’d have a Fronius battery with a Fronius inverter. If anything goes wrong, it’s clearly a Fronius problem. But Fronius decided to drop the Fronius battery and partner with BYD. Bugger. Now when there is a fault, who do we blame?

Fronius Gen24 BYD BatteryCrossbreeding solar batteries and inverters has been a problem in the solar-battery industry since day one. It was a problem carefully considered by Fronius. However, to make the battery more affordable, Fronius decided they wouldn’t white label a battery with the Fronius Brand. Instead, Fronius looked long and hard to collaborate with a reputable battery manufacturer. They chose BYD.

I’m not loving the crossbreeding. But I’m relatively confident that I won’t be in the middle of a finger-pointing war when warranty concerns rear their ugly head. Let’s look at the tech stuff and see whether it’s worth the risk.

BYD battery warranty

The BYD HV batteries have a 10-year warranty or a “through-put energy” warranty, whichever comes first. The through-put warranty doesn’t allow you to do a full cycle every single day for 10 years – instead, it’s about 82 per cent of that. After 10 years it will have about 60 per cent of its original storage capacity. That’s a fairly normal battery warranty, and the Terms & Conditions don’t seem too unrealistic.

BYD battery size options

You can’t just grab any Fronius Gen24 inverter and any BYD battery and expect it to work. Your excess solar power needs to be carefully considered. The below pairing guide shows how long it will take to charge your BYD battery at the maximum charge rate. Note the sharp charge/discharge rate reduction between a 10kWh battery and an 11kWh battery.

byd sizing guide v12 150dpi

Fronius Gen 24 changeover time

The Fronius BYD solution works in a blackout. Don’t take that for granted if you look at cheaper battery options. But in a blackout, we need to automatically disconnect your home from the grid.  (You don’t want your battery to be powering all the homes in your neighbourhood. Nor do you want to fry the poor bloke who’s trying to fix the fallen power lines.)

Let’s compare Fronius with Sungrow. Sungrow has slightly different methods to ensure you don’t fry the linesman:

sungrow-contactor-image-Gen24Sungrow has an inbuilt automatic switch (a contactor) to disconnect your home from the grid. This means your household backup circuits continually run through the Sungrow inverter. In a blackout, Sungrow’s internal contact opens to disconnect your backup circuits from the grid. As soon as it disconnects from the grid, the inverter will form its own grid (using your stored battery energy) and continue to operate. The changeover takes less than 20 milliseconds. That’s an unnoticeable power interruption for lights. However, that doesn’t mean you have an “uninterruptable power supply” or UPS for your home office. In our tests, the Sungrow 20ms changeover time is long enough to crash a computer.

fronius-contactor-Gen24Fronius relies on an external contractor to disconnect the home from the grid. The inverter needs to verify that the third-party contractor has safely operated. The Fronius spec sheet says that you’ll be without power for 90 seconds, but my tests show the changeover time only takes about 40 seconds. Are 40 seconds really that long to go without power? Keep in mind your computer will crash either way. Take your choice: batteryless backup (Fronius)- or a 20-millisecond changeover time (Sungrow).

Take your choice: Batteryless backup – or a 20 millisecond changeover time.

As for ease and cost of installation – if your inverter needs to be a long way from your switchboard- Fronius would be an easier and more cost-effective solution. If the inverter is right next to the switchboard – Sungow’s method would probably be easier, neater and cheaper.

Blackout mode

Just because you have a battery, it doesn’t mean it will work – or work well in a blackout. The Gen 24 inverter can:

  • Use the battery power to keep the essential load running (assuming your electrician wired it this way)
  • Continue re-charging the battery (while the sun is out)
  • Run 3 phase loads (Symo inverter)

Charge the BYD Battery with any old inverter

If you have an old solar system on your roof (with any brand of solar inverter), it can be used to help charge the BYD battery. With the use of a Fronius smart meter, we can use the excess power from your old solar system to charge your new BYD battery via the Gen24 inverter. The old inverter won’t stay on in blackout mode.

You probably wouldn’t want to do this with an old 1.5kW, but if you had a quality 5kW system installed, then it can be used to assist in charging your BYD battery.

 

The Fronius Gen 24 Build Quality

Fronius Gen24 Review SpeakerBoxIt’s beautiful. It reminds me of an evolved Macdonald’s drive-through speaker box with a self-serve credit card facility. Minus the regrets.

Available Fronius Gen 24 Models

As of October 2020, we got our hands on the first Gen 24 “Symo” or three-phase inverters. They are available in 6kW, 8kW and 10kW inverters.

In the first half of 2021, the Fronius “Primo” will be available for single-phase homes. They’ll be available in 3kW, 3.6kW, 4kW, 4.6kW, 5kW, 6kW, 8kW and 10kW inverters.

The Fronius Gen24 cooling system

Fronius has always built solid inverters but the Fronius Gen 24 takes it to a new level. For longevity and efficiency, power electronics need to run cool. And because hybrid inverters do twice the work of a standard solar inverter, the cooling system needs to step it up a notch. Fronius’s obsession with cooling is displayed in front and centre of the Gen 24. It’s a big 15cm fan, and it moves slower and quieter and even more effectively than the Fronius Snap inverters. The grill on the front draws air in and across the massive heat sink.

Compare the new Sungrow SH5k-30 for example. Sungrow is no fan of fans. They have a little internal fan, but that’s it. Fronius is cool and clearly takes cooling, efficiency and longevity more seriously than any other inverter on the market.

Fronius Gen 24 Uptime Design

While on the one hand, Fronius focuses on reliability, they also design their inverters to make repair and replacement fast and effective. The Fronius Gen 24 heat sink chassis and printed circuit board are one component. In case of an inverter fault, there is no mucking around. The installer will turn up with a new chassis and replaces the entire internal of your inverter minus your saved production data. No waiting around for spare parts, no replacing one component just to find another component fails a few months later. The Fronius Gen 24 inverter is designed to maximise your solar uptime.

Built for Australian voltages

One thing that jumped out at me was the Gen 24 Primo only has 4 large electrolytic capacitors. Fewer electrolytic capacitors mean less chance of failure. How did Fronius achieve this? Part of the complete redesign included dropping the maximum input voltage down from 1000v to 600v. That works out perfectly for Australian residential DC voltage limitations, and it makes the inverter run more efficiently.

Built for bigger panels

Panels are getting bigger in both dimensions and power classes. Inverters are not keeping up. As panels get bigger, their operating current gets higher. Take, for example, the QCell 390W panel. It has an operating current of  11.25 amps. If we parallel QCells panels into one input, then we have a potential of 20.5 amps going into that input.

current-clipping-gen24-brisbaneThe Gen24 has a big 22 or 25-amp input limit on one of the inputs. You’ll have no design problems with that. However, the second input of the Gen24 can only handle 12.5 amps. This is on par or better than all other 10kW inverters that I looked at, but it would have been nice to have a 25 amp input in both trackers.

The image to the left shows an example of design limitations we face because of the lower input current. In some cases, we may need to install two smaller inverters if you want to make the best use of your roof space.

No Screen: Grandma Mode 2.0

The Fronius Gen 24 comes with 2 simple lights. If one light is solid green and the other is solid blue, then you’re all good – apparently. I’ve always banged on about what I call “Grandma mode” or the need for a screen on a solar inverter. You should be able to walk past your inverter and get a quick idea if it is producing as well as it should be.

I spoke with Fronius years ago about this when the Gen 24 was under development. They made a good point. If you are going to have a hybrid inverter with a battery connected to your home, you really need to take the responsibility of keeping your inverter connected to the internet. Grandma, if you want a solar battery, then get the internet and learn how to use it.

And Fronius has made it easier than ever for even Granma to keep her inverter connected to WiFi. Tap the WPS button on your modem, then tap the optical sensor on the front of your Fronius inverter twice. The left light will be solid blue when connected. Then jump onto the Fronius Solar.Web (app or webpage) and check out how your inverter is running.

Built for installers

A great product needs a great installer. Great installers take pride in their work and want minimal visible conduits and cables if at all possible. The Fronius Gen 24 has been designed with this in mind. We can now bring our cables in from behind the wall, depending of course on the type of wall we are installing on.

The Gen 24 is packaged as 3 easy-to-install parts, with fancy 1/4 turn screws. It comes with spring terminals to reduce the chance of a poor electrical connection. It’s the little things combined together that make for a happy tradie and a great solar install.

The Award-winning Fronius Gen24

Gen 24 Intersolar AwardIt’s not surprising that the new Fronius Gen 24 has collected a swag full of international industry awards, including:

i) The 2020 Intersolar Award – the most prestigious award in the solar industry;

ii) The HTW Berlin University of Sciences awarded Fronius first place for efficiency with the Fronius GEN 24 Plus 10.0 inverter and BYD Battery-Box H11.5,

iii) The Plus X Awards recognised the Fronius Gen24 in four categories: High Quality, Ease of Use, Functionality and Ecology;

iv) The 2019 Red Dot Design Award.

Conclusion

The Fronius Gen24 was worth waiting for. PV point (or batteryless backup) means you are part way to being blackout-proof without the expense of a battery. Coupling with a BYD isn’t a perfect scenario, but I’d call it a safe bet working with two highly reputable and established companies. With a BYD battery connected, the Gen 24 will do everything you would expect (but often not get) from a hybrid inverter. But it’s the build quality of the Gen 24 that I’m focussed on. Its input current is not flexible enough for all roof layouts, but it’s great for most. Hybrid inverters by their nature cop a hiding because of the additional energy throughput. The Gen 24 build quality is displayed front and centre, and right down to the finer details. And given the Fronius Gen 24 swag of awards, I’m not the only one who thinks so.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

48 Comments on Fronius Gen24 Review

Davina2022 said :Guest Report 7 months ago

Hi Joe, the GEN24 is priced similar to the Snap inverter, and then when you want to add a battery, you can pay more for Fronius UP to upgrade the software. Mark explains more about it here: https://youtu.be/7PSWzNb_Y_w

    Devina Rogers said :Guest Report 7 months ago

    Hi Samuel, yes the Fronius GEN24 inverter is a hybrid inverter.

      Kendall said :administrator Report 9 months ago

      Hi Chris, thank you for your message. The Gen24 inverter will already have night mode set. You can set night mode on the Galvo at the inverter. Please follow these steps. Main menu, scroll through to 'Setup' (picture of the spanner) > Display Settings > Night mode > On Kendall - MC Electrical

        Devina Rogers said :Guest Report 9 months ago

        Hi Scott, Mark talks about the fan in his latest review of the new GEN24 8kW and 10kW Primos: https://youtu.be/7PSWzNb_Y_w

          Devina Rogers said :Guest Report 9 months ago

          Hi Hank, Mark recently created a BYD sizing guide video that may clarify it for you: https://mcelectrical.com.au/byd-solar-battery-guide/

            Devina Rogers said :Guest Report 9 months ago

            Hi Dennis, the 8kW and 10kW Primo have arrived in Australia. Mark just released a YouTube video review on them: https://mce.solar/Primo810

              Samuel said :Guest Report 10 months ago

              Hi Mark I purchased and had installed a GEN 24 inverveter through your business in 2021 but was told it was not a Hybrid inverter? My question is are all GEN 24 inverters Hybrid inverters or not? Thanks in advance.

              • 4510
              Mark Cavanagh said :administrator Report 12 months ago

              Thanks RDF! Correct, you need a type 2 Digital meter.

                Mark Cavanagh said :administrator Report one year ago

                Thanks! Yes you need a “smart meter or a type 4 digital meter for peak demand charges.

                  RDF said :Guest Report one year ago

                  Love your work, Mark. Technically it's the work your crew performed, but it's still under your guidance. I just want to comment on the update to this blog about peak demand charges. My personal observations: -They (peak demad charges) are very real. -They ( the retailers) can't charge this if they (the household) don't have an updated meter? Is the second point correct?

                  • 4069
                  Scott said :Guest Report one year ago

                  Hi Mark, how’s the fan noise in the Gen24? I’ve heard some shockers on other Fronius inverters. It’ll be outside my study. I’m tossing up between the Sungrow SH-RS which is fanless, but is that enough of a reason to, would I be sacrificing other things the gen24 can do?

                  • 4171
                  Chris said :Guest Report one year ago

                  Unless I've missed it in all my searching/reading through manuals, one big downside is that night mode isn't supported. I just got a gen24 installed alongside my galvo and the smart meter is hooked up to the gen24. No consumption data reporting as soon as the sun goes down which is really silly.

                    Cam said :Guest Report one year ago

                    Hi Mark, thank you for all of your Gen24 content both here and on YouTube. In late 2021 I installed a single phase 6kW Gen24 and 20X Trina Solar 390w panels totalling 7.8kW. In 2022 generation was 10.43MWh with self consumption of 5.19MWh and total consumption of 9.85MWh. On perfect days my system might clip around 6.2kW for 2hrs in the middle of the day. With an EV on the way I want to install the BYD battery and oversize my solar system to get more generation in the early and later parts of the day. Assuming sufficient roof space how much additional generation capacity (panels) might I be able to add? And do the additional panels need to be the same as the existing panels?

                      Adam said :Guest Report one year ago

                      thanks Mark! Interesting that you think that 15 seconds is too quick. I would have thought that with today's technology, having a notification to alert the household that the grid has gone down and that the system is running on battery backup would be routinely requested. Relying on power going out seems a bit clunky. Of course, the notification system would have to be able to cope with the power outage itself and perhaps be able to run without internet. Perhaps the Fronius inverter could run a relay to a light bulb that turns red when on battery power? Or a buzzer? Or a relay that makes an IOT device send a notification or trigger a scene? I'm sure there are Home Assistant or Homebridge guru programmers who could work that out.

                        Mark C said :administrator Report one year ago

                        Hi Adam. I think it's a more robust solution. The inbuilt contactor of the Sungrow only allows about 20 amps(?) through it, so this means when it is operating on grid, you can not use more than 20 amps on the backup circuit. And you the idea of wiring your essential circuits through an inverter that has is gaining a bad reputation for firmware issues just sounds a bit counterproductive. With Fronius, you can put a much bigger contactor on it and run your whole house on backup mode, as long as you are careful with peak usage in a blackout. Fronius will soon be down to about 15 seconds delay. Ironically I think 15 seconds is TOO QUICK! I like the delay so the customer knows clearly that they are in a blackout so should be more conservative with power.

                          Adam said :Guest Report 2 years ago

                          Hi Mark, long-time reader, first-time commenter. Would you mind please explaining the reasoning why Fronius chose to have an external contactor with the Gen24? As you detail above, this means that it has an "up to 90 second" switchover time from grid fail to battery (whereas Sungrow, for example, has an internal contactor and approx 20ms switchover- assuming it works). And do you know why the Sungrow seems to be able to have a second "parallel" inverter operating in backup mode; whereas the Fronius Gen24 changes the frequency to 53Hz in backup mode, therefore disabling other inverters. Thanks very much! p.s. big fan of Fronius, I have one. I would be very hesitant to install a Sungrow. However they do seem to be a bit more flexible.

                          • 3205
                          Leslie Farnworth said :Guest Report 2 years ago

                          Dear Mark, I have been reading your blog's for days, as a design engineer I appreciate the effort you put in. Question:- You mention that the inverter size is not relevant, (33% rule) when charging DC battery packs, I have 2off 6Kw battery packs, running there own BMS's. And 8Kw of panels on the roof. So (if I could get one!) What Fronius size should I be purchasing? the 6Kw to suit the panels or the 8.2Kw to allow charging the batteries. Here in the UK (17/6/22) we have no mounting rails in the country and I have just been informed by the Fronius concessionaire, NO inverters this year. (Brexit/Silicon chips?) Best Wishes, Keep up the good work. Leslie

                          • BH23 5NS
                          Mark C said :administrator Report 2 years ago

                          Hi Justin, Fronius doesn't usually deal directly with end-users. Their support with installers is normally excellent. Can you give me a bit of a description of the glitches you are seeing, and I'll check on my end, and I can pass on your feedback.

                            Justin said :Guest Report 2 years ago

                            Hi Mark, I am not from QLD, but your info was great when I was researching a system. I ended up with the Gen 24, smart meter and Q.PEAK DUO panels.. I found there are quite a few bugs or unexplained glitches in the solar.web platform when using the Gen 24, and there seems to be no way to get any support from Fronius, they have go out of their way to make themselves impossible to get hold of. My installer was great, did a great job, but I think they have the same issue getting any info. Great system, but its let down by their lack of real support.. a high level FAQ isnt support.

                            • 6026
                            James G said :Guest Report 2 years ago

                            Hi just starting to look into Solar and found your site has a wealth of good information, the Fronius Gen24 single phase looks like a great inverter and wanted to know if it could work for my roof. I am unfortunately in sydney, however do value your opinion. my townhouse roof is small and to put enough panels it needs 3 roof spaces used to get above 6w system with 16 panels. this is the proposed layout https://imgur.com/a/uqHQSBj - tile roofs are NW(321°) and SE (140°)facing @ 34 degree pitch(SE more shade during winter) - Flat roof is NW/SE facing and has a -5% NW slope. (is it worth reducing to 4 panels tilted 15°)

                              Elliot said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                              Hi Andrew. Yes, we believe you can charge the BYD from the grid.

                                Elliot said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                Hi Marek. The Gen24 would be both an upgrade in features and performance plus it's future proof.

                                  Elliot said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                  Hi Michael. There are credible rumours on the large size Gen24 inverters. Unfortunately we don't have any more info on them being released at this stage.

                                    Elliot said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                    Hi Michal. The PV-Point system itself is covered under the Gen24 5+5 year warranty. As for the GPO itself. This is an add-on and will be up to the electrician who installed it. In saying this, GPO's rarely fail.

                                      Elliot said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                      Hi Vincent. Your thinking is correct, the Symo will split the production evenly across the phases. Despite this, a Primo and Battery wouldn't be the best solution. The loads of the house need to be relatively balanced over the three phases meaning you generally can't have all the heavy hitting circuits running off just one phase without creating other issues.

                                        Gerry said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                        Hi Mark, Good info. Also like your YouTube videos. Three questions. 1) Any chance you could compare/contrast the Fronius Gen24 with the Sol-Ark (probably Fronius 10k vs. Sol-Ark 12k - or just in general)? 2) Any comments on how to use the Gen 24 for EV charging? The brochures mention "e-mobility", but I have downloaded & read a number of other docs from their Web site and see no guidance on this subject. I'd be especially interested if it could do DC EV charging. The Sol-Ark claims it can charge directly from solar panels *and* combine solar and grid charging for an even faster EV charge rate. 3) Any clue why only BYD batteries are supported? The Sol-Ark claims they are "battery agnostic", which is a plus. I'm in the USA (New Jersey), need a new roof (maybe standing seam metal) on my two story Colonial home (with a simple NE/SW exposure with minimal shading on the far edges of the SW facing section), and going solar, with battery backup, EV charging, and maybe (future) whole home generator input. Was looking at Solar Edge until reading about nightmare experiences (failures) from users (many on your Web page(s)). Then found Sol-Ark, but then read issues with Chinese manufacturing, high cost, and Chinese-based servers hosting user data and updates. Now considering Fronius Gen 24. Any other suggestions welcomed.

                                        • 08873 (USA)
                                        Vincent said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                        Hi Mark, Currently in the process of building a new house (probably done middle of next year at this stage), and considering putting in solar with a battery so this article was great to read! The house is likely to get 3-phase power due to the air conditioner size, but I suspect most of the other loads will be on a single phase. If I wanted to back up everything except the air conditioner, would the Symo actually be less useful than a Primo? My understanding is that the Symo equally splits power output across the three phases, so the 10kW one provides 3.33kW on each phase, and I could only run 3.33kW of 'stuff' if my home appliances were all hooked up to one phase. With a Primo+Battery, I could support the phase that my home is mostly connected to with 5kW (for example). Am I on the right track, or have I misunderstood how the inverter is supposed to work?

                                        • 4115
                                        Andrew said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                        Mark, can the BYD LVS batteries be charged from the grid? Some providers have off-peak rates that are ~5c/kWh, and its the major draw for getting a PW2...

                                          Mark C said :administrator Report 3 years ago

                                          Hi Steel, Yes currently it's just BYD. I believe LG will be compatible soon.

                                            Marek Wawrzeniec said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                            Hi I have to change Symo 6.0-3-M for bigger one and I am considering to use Gen24. Is this much better technically than Symo or just more future proof?

                                            • PL 31-009
                                            Dennis said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                            Any indication that the Gen24 plus or Gen 24 will be available in a 10kW single phase version in the coming year?

                                            • 33709
                                            Michal said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                            Hey, Mark could you also describe the Warranty conditions about PV point - it is a little bit confusing.

                                              Hank Doll said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                              The Fronius Primo Gen24 can be utilised with the BYD HVS and BYD HVM. However, I can't find an answer as to why the maximum BYD HVS is 7.6Kw while the HVM can be expanded with 4 and more battery units. Can you enlighten me please.

                                              • 2594
                                              Michael Foster said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                              Now that it's 2021 and the product is being installed globally, have there been any credible rumours on the possibility of an 8KW or 10KW Primo gen24 (ideally with both MPPTs allowing 25 watts)?

                                              • 2642
                                              Steele said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                              So this means you cannot use Fronius with other Battery manufacturers only BYD?

                                              • 6020
                                              McBee said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                              Hi, I do not know if it's true, but in Europe Fronius recommends only Enwitec Switchover Box as an external connector to make the Gen24 work in full backup mode. I was told that one can loos the warranty if not using this 2'part accessory? These are extra 1000 EURO. This hidden costs, as well as the price in general are the "4th thing that I love less about this inverter" ;)

                                                Denis said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                                Please ignore my post ! I reread your article and saw "But we can always install two single-phase inverters" - As I mentioned - you ARE thorough ! THANKS !

                                                  Denis said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                                  Mark - thanks for the detailed review - informative as always. I want to put 10kW of solar on the roof (the maximum permitted given that I only have single phase), and the Fronius 8.2 would seem be a good match. I would however like to have blackout capability. The GEN24 looks good - but the max single phase (Gen24 Primo) seems to be 6.2 kW which is below the CEC 75% threshold (inverter / solar panel). Am I missing something - is is Fronius planning a larger single phase in the future ?

                                                    john swinkels said :Guest Report 3 years ago

                                                    Great review until the end a 90-sec delay to switch to the battery is unacceptable. After showing such great design and engineering. What were they thinking.

                                                    • 2483
                                                    Mark C said :administrator Report 3 years ago

                                                    Hi Paraic. We'll be able to install both the Symo and Primo in February, so we are quoting on them now!

                                                      Mark C said :administrator Report 4 years ago

                                                      Apparently not Wayne. We would generally install a minimum 6kW 3 phase jobs anyway.

                                                        Fred Birkbeck said :Guest Report 4 years ago

                                                        Hi Mark. Excellent. Well explained article on the Gen-24. I live in far nth qld. I have installed a Gen 24, 3-phase 10kW unit and qty 2 BYD HVS 7.7 batteries (totalling 15.36kWh). This system is integrated with my existing 20kW 3-phase Symo and Fronius Smart Meter. LG panels on roof total 35.92kW. System connected to Solar Web. Each day I see an indication on the Production Graph showing - Battery Mode: Start up. I cannot find any information on this indicator. I would appreciate your comments/information on this indicator. Cheers, Fred

                                                        • 4880
                                                        Wayne said :Guest Report 4 years ago

                                                        Good news Mark . But no 5kw 3phase? Ta Wayne

                                                        • 6162
                                                        Paraic OCeallaigh said :Guest Report 4 years ago

                                                        Thanks for the great review. When do you expect you will be ready to install them for your customers?

                                                        • 4570
                                                        Joe said :Guest Report 4 years ago

                                                        Hi Mark. Great article. Any idea of the retail cost of these versus the standard Primo 5kw? Are we talking 20% more, 50% more, or, err, more?! Cheers, Joe

                                                        • 3442
                                                        Frank Bakker said :Guest Report 4 years ago

                                                        Hi Mark, As an energy consultant (commercial electricity contracts and solar), I like reading your blogs. It seems to me you really have "spat it" with SolarEdge. I don't know how their warranty support compares with SMA and Fronius but I do know that SolarEdge should do better. That said, when considering all factors that I am aware of, I can't make a case for string inverters with a five year warranty over and a SolarEdge optimised inverter with a 12 year warranty and 25 years on the optimisers which I'm told makes the inverter cheaper to replace as the optimiser does part of the work of the inverter.

                                                        • 6104
                                                        Simon Bourne said :Guest Report 4 years ago

                                                        Thanks for a great article Mark. As usual, your candour and openness is refreshing.

                                                        • 4053
                                                        HeadScratcher said :Guest Report 4 years ago

                                                        "Its input current is not flexible enough for all roof layouts, but it’s great for most. Hybrid inverters by their nature cop a hiding because of the additional energy throughput. " Mark, It would have been worthwhile - before you got to the Conclusion - to talk about the drawbacks of a hybrid inverter (and even more useful to describe the difference between a hybrid inverter a "non-hybrid" inverter). The difference - and the attractions of each type - might be obvious to people who live and breathe solar, but for a lot of potential customers (like me) it is not.

                                                        • 2081

                                                        Start typing and press Enter to search

                                                        Subscribe To Mark's Blog

                                                        Subscribe To Mark's Blog

                                                        Join our mailing list to receive the latest information, reviews and solar industry insights from MC Electrical owner Mark Cavanagh.

                                                        You have Successfully Subscribed!

                                                        Google Rating
                                                        4.9
                                                        Based on 245 reviews
                                                        ×
                                                        js_loader